Annual awards

Each year we organise or are involved with awards for excellence in writing, poetry pamphlet publishing, and craft bookbinding.

Elizabeth Soutar Bookbinding Competition

Bookbinding leaflet cover

In 1993 the Elizabeth Soutar Bookbinding Competition competition was initiated by the Library in order to recognise excellence in the field of craft bookbinding. Such is its appeal that it now attracts binders from all over Europe. Recent winners have hailed from Germany, Belgium, Sweden, Italy and the Netherlands, as well as Scotland, England and Japan.

Creative and craft binding categories
This competition aims to encourage the practice and development of both creative and craft binding skills which display individual expression and originality. The judges look for a best creative and a best craft binding. Each category carries two prizes — a main prize of £1,200 and a student prize of £600.

We define a student as any person receiving full or part-time training or education in bookbinding. We consider all student entries for both the main and student categories, but they are only eligible for one prize.

Exclusive binding
We ask entrants to submit a binding that has been bound exclusively for this competition using materials of their own choice. The winning entries join our collection of fine bindings.

Mrs Elizabeth A Clark (formerly Soutar) of Moray sponsored the award from 1993 until her death in 2008. Thanks to a bequest from her, the competition continues.

The closing date for the 2015 competition is 9 November.

Callum Macdonald Memorial Award

Competition leaflet cover

The Callum Macdonald Memorial Award is given in recognition of publishing skill and effort in the field of poetry pamphlets. It was created by NLS in memory of Scottish literary publisher Callum Macdonald, and is administered in association with Tessa Ransford, former Director of the Scottish Poetry Library and Callum Macdonald's widow.

Publishers of Scottish origin, living in Scotland or engaged with Scottish culture can enter. The award is supported by the Michael Marks Charitable Trust.

The closing date for the 2015 competition is 19 March.

 Saltire Society / National Library of Scotland Research Book of the Year

Saltire Society logo

Each year the Saltire Society / National Library of Scotland Research Book of the Year Award is presented at the Saltire Society's literary awards ceremony, held in the Library.

The award recognises the importance of scholarly research in Scotland.

It was established in 1998 and is administered by the Saltire Society.


About us

Speak me