Annual Review

Annual Review 2003-2004 continued (page 3 of 3)

Donors, depositors and sponsors — April 2003 to March 2004

We wish to thank the following individuals and organisations whose generosity has added to the richness of our collections in the course of the year.


  • Action on Smoking and Health (ASH)
  • Robert Allan
  • David Baker
  • Michael Barnard
  • The late Dr Fiona Melville Bennett
  • Professor A Broadie DLitt FRSE
  • Hamish M Brown
  • Dr Jenni Calder
  • Christian Aid Book Fair, Edinburgh
  • The Rt Hon Lord Crathorne
  • P H De Pree
  • Mrs Elizabeth Dunbar
  • Professor A A M Duncan
  • The late Dorothy Dunnett (through the Curtis Brown Group)
  • Marco Fazzini
  • Ms M C Fraser
  • Ms Carola Gordon
  • Alan Green
  • James W Hastie
  • Ms C Kermaire
  • Ronald Kerr
  • Dr John Law
  • Angela Lemaire
  • Dr Maurice Lindsay, CBE
  • Dr Ian MacDougall
  • Miss M E Mackenzie
  • Rob MacKenzie
  • Alex C Macleod
  • Ms C Millar
  • Robert Milne
  • Trevor Morrison
  • Professor Isobel Murray
  • Jonathan Osborne
  • The late Mr Michael C Penny CA
  • Mrs Jean Ramsay
  • Ian Rankin
  • Señor Juan Gondra-Rezola
  • J K Rowling (through the Christopher Little Agency)
  • Andrej E Skubic
  • Douglas Sealy
  • Michael Sheridan
  • Professor Alexander McCall Smith FRSE
  • Graham Somervell
  • Miss Henrietta Somervell
  • Dame Muriel Spark
  • Mrs Fiona Stark
  • Ms Adèle Stewart
  • Professor Hew Strachan
  • Professor Akito Teruyama
  • Ms Erica Thomas
  • Murray Tosh, MSP
  • Michael Turnbull
  • Waddell Music Trustees
  • Professor A G Watson
  • Mrs Heather Watts
  • Ross Willson
  • Ian S Wood
  • Mrs Ann Yule
  • Dr William Zachs
  • Dr Marino Zorzi


  • Church of Scotland Board of World Mission
  • Edinburgh International Festival Society
  • Tom Ferguson
  • Alex Finlay
  • Miss Joanna Gordon
  • Rt Hon the Lord Mackay of Clashfern KT PC FRSE
  • David McLetchie, MSP
  • National Federation of Retail Newsagents
  • Newbattle Abbey College
  • The Saltire Society
  • Scottish Labour History Society
  • Scottish Poetry Library
  • Geoffrey Waterston
  • Miss Leonora Waterston

Sponsorship and support

We are grateful to the following for their sponsorship and support.

  • A Sinclair Henderson Trust
  • BAA Scottish Airports
  • The Binks Trust
  • The Birnie Trust
  • Colin Baxter
  • The Cray Trust
  • Mrs Elizabeth A Clark's Fund
  • Friends of the National Libraries
  • The Gannochy Trust
  • Graham Brown Fund
  • The Hugh Fraser Foundation
  • John Menzies plc
  • Keppie Trust Fund
  • The Miller Foundation
  • The Leng Charitable Trust
  • Lindsays Charitable Trust
  • Michael Marks Charitable Trust
  • New Opportunities Fund
  • Royal Mail
  • The Russell Trust
  • Mrs Ruth Ratcliff's Fund
  • Saltire Society
  • The Sir James Miller (Edinburgh) Trust
  • The Tay Charitable Trust
  • The Thomson Corporation plc
  • Vivienne and Samuel Cohen Charitable Trust
  • The W M Mann Foundation

Trustees and senior staff



Professor Michael Anderson, OBE, MA, PhD, FBA, FRSE


  • The Lord President of the Court of Session
  • The Lord Advocate
  • The First Minister, Scottish Parliamen
  • The Member of the Scottish Parliament for Edinburgh Central
  • The Dean of the Faculty of Advocates
  • The Minister of the High Kirk (St Giles'), Edinburgh
  • The Crown Agent
  • The Lord Provost of Aberdeen
  • The Lord Provost of Dundee
  • The Lord Provost of Edinburgh
  • The Lord Provost of Glasgow

Appointed by the Crown

  • Professor Michael Anderson, OBE, MA, PhD, FBA, FRSE
  • A Lorraine Fannin, BA, DipEd

Appointed by the Faculty of Advocates

  • The Right Hon Lord Brodie, QC (to April 2003)
  • Edgar Prais, QC (from May 2003 to February 2004)
  • Angus Stewart, QC
  • Malcolm G Thomson, QC
  • The Hon Lord Coulsfield, QC
  • Malcolm C N Scott, QC
  • Stephen Woolman, QC (from April 2004)

Appointed by the Universities

  • Professor Graham D Caie, MA, PhD, FEA, FRSA
  • Ivor G Lloyd, BA, DipLib, MLib, ALA
  • Peter Kemp, MA, PhD
  • Dr Judith Vincent, BA, PhD (from March 2004)
  • Professor Jane Ohlmeyer, MA, PhD, FRHistS (to May 2003)

Appointed by the Convention of Scottish Local Authorities

  • Councillor Bill Lamb
  • Councillor Joy Mowatt (from July 2004)


  • Lady Balfour of Burleigh, MA, DPhil, FSAScot, FRSE
  • Ishbel Maclean, MA LIP (from April 2003)
  • Professor Jane Ohlmeyer, MA, Phd, FRHistS (from June 2003)

Librarian and Directors

In 2003, the Library conducted a review of senior management responsibilities. As a result, a new departmental structure was implemented, to better support and deliver the priorities laid out in the Library's new strategy.

National Librarian

Martyn Wade

Director of Collection Development

Catriona J Newton

  • Business Collections
  • Manuscript Collections
  • Map Collections
  • Legal Deposit and Modern Collections
  • Preservation and Conservation
  • Rare Books Collections

Director of Corporate Services

Duncan Campbell

  • Estates
  • Finance
  • Human Resources
  • ICT

Director of Customer Services

Gordon Hunt

  • Cataloguing Services
  • Education and Interpretative Services
  • Enquiries and Reference Services
  • Inter Library Services

Director of Development and Marketing

Alexandra Miller

  • E-Services Development
  • Marketing Services
  • Strategic Policy and Development


Previous page


First page


Annual Report main page

Speak me