Board of Trustees

Here we list the members of the National Library of Scotland's Board of Trustees. As well as general information about the Board, you can read minutes of Board meetings here.

In this section

The National Library of Scotland Act 2012 confirmed the Library's general function as 'a national resource for reference, study, research and bibliography, having particular regard to Scotland'. The Act also modernised the make-up and responsibilities of the Board of Trustees.

There are presently nine Trustees, one of whom is nominated by the Faculty of Advocates. All Trustees are appointed by the Scottish Ministers, and follow the Nolan procedures on public appointment. Any vacancies are advertised by the Scottish Government.



The Board of Trustees has adopted a Code of Conduct approved by the Standards Commission for Scotland. You can consult the Board's Register of Interests, required by the code, at the Enquiries Desk in the George IV Bridge Building and at the link below.


Board members

The members of the Board of Trustees, all appointed the Scottish Ministers, are:

James Boyle (Chair)

Andrea M Batchelor
Professor Graham D Caie, MA, PhD, FRSA, FEA, FRSE
A Lorraine Fannin, OBE, BA, DipEd
Jonathan Lake, QC (nominated by the Faculty of Advocates)
Charles Lovatt
Moira Methven, MCILIP
Dr Richard Parsons
Dr Willis Pickard



The Board has established four permanent sub-committees, with the following members:

Audit Committee:
Charles Lovatt (Chair)
Paul Dollman (co-opted)
A Lorraine Fannin
Dr Richard Parsons

Governance Committee:
Professor Graham D Caie (Chair)
Moira Methven
Dr Willis Pickard

Staffing and Remuneration Committee:

Moira Methven (Chair)
Andrea Batchelor
Dr Willis Pickard



The Board holds between four and six ordinary meetings each year. You can read Trustees' meeting minutes online. Meeting dates for 2013 are:

  • Monday 4 February
  • Thursday 28 March
  • Monday 24 June
  • Monday 23 September
  • Monday 4 November
  • Monday 16 December.



You can contact the Chair of the Board of Trustees by writing to him at the Library or by email to


About NLS

Speak me