Board of the National Library of Scotland

Here we list the members of the Board of the National Library of Scotland. As well as general information about the Board, you can read minutes of Board meetings here.

In this section

The National Library of Scotland Act 2012 confirmed the Library's general function as 'a national resource for reference, study, research and bibliography, having particular regard to Scotland'. The Act also modernised the make-up and responsibilities of the Board.

There are 10 Board members at present. All Board members are appointed by the Scottish Ministers, and follow the Nolan procedures on public appointment. Any vacancies are advertised by the Scottish Government.



The Board has adopted a Code of Conduct approved by the Standards Commission for Scotland. You can consult the Board's Register of Interests, required by the code, at the Enquiries Desk in the George IV Bridge Building and at the link below.


Board members

From July 2014, the members of the Board of NLS are:

James Boyle (Chair)

Noreen Adams
Dianne Haley
Simon Learoyd
Charles Lovatt
Sir Neil McIntosh
Dr Richard Parsons
Fiona Robertson
Professor Adrienne Scullion
Professor Melissa Terras.



The Board holds between four and six ordinary meetings each year. You can read the Board's meeting minutes online. Meeting dates for 2014 are:

  • 24 February
  • 28 April
  • 30 June
  • 22 September
  • 3 November
  • 15 December.



You can contact the Chair of the Board by writing to him at the Library or by email to


About NLS

Speak me