Modern Scottish literature

Modern Scottish literature manuscripts

We continue to build upon the foundation of the older Scottish literature collections with a primary interest of Manuscript Collections being the literary papers of 20th century and contemporary Scottish writers in prose or verse.

Writers represented by substantial collections include John Buchan, C M Grieve ('Hugh MacDiarmid'), Neil Gunn, Eric Linklater, the Gaelic poets, George Campbell Hay and Sorley MacLean, J Leslie Mitchell ('Lewis Grassic Gibbon'), Alasdair Gray, and Muriel Spark.

Our acquisitions policy in this area is very active, with an emphasis on the acquisition of papers of contemporary or near-contemporary Scottish writers.


Manuscript collections


Speak me