The Hopkinson Berlioz Collection

This collection of Berlioz's musical and literary works was formed by the music bibliographer Cecil Hopkinson (1898-1977), whose Berlioz bibliography, published by the Edinburgh Bibliographical Society in 1951, remains a standard work of reference.


Music editions

Hopkinson presented his extensive Berlioz collection to the National Library in 1952, but continued to add items to it after this date. It includes editions of Berlioz's music, proof copies, and presentation copies with inscriptions by Berlioz.


Memoirs and critical works

The literary part of the collection consists of editions and translations of Berlioz's memoirs, letters and critical works, including copies of his own libretti for the operas 'Béatrice and Bénédict' and 'Les Troyens', and works of music criticism on the composer.


Letters and other material

There are also autograph letters, several minor manuscripts, and associated material, including portraits, photographs, playbills and posters.

Additions continue to be made to the collection, which now numbers over 700 volumes.


Music collections page


Speak me