Contact Us

This page gives you information you need to contact the National Library of Scotland by phone, email or through the website, or to write to us. There are also direct contact details for the Library's main departments or services. Our enquiry policy outlines our commitment to dealing with enquiries.

To phone us

  • Main number:
    Tel: +44 (0)131 623 3700
    Fax: +44 (0)131 623 3701
  • Direct dial numbers:
    Some departments have a direct line: see Departments / units list below.

Email and website

Use these options for general enquiries. Some departments have a direct email address: see Departments/Units list below.

To write to us

  • National Library of Scotland
    George IV Bridge
    Edinburgh
    EH1 1EW
    Scotland, UK

How to find us if you are visiting the Library.

Departments / units

Business information Scottish Business Information Service.
Email: enquiries@scotbis.com
Document supply (Reference Services)
Enquiries from libraries about borrowing / lending books and obtaining / supplying articles.
Email: ils@nls.uk
Tel (direct dial): 0131 623 3827    Fax: 0131 623 3830
Foreign Collections Unit Enquiries about foreign material.
Email: foreign@nls.uk
Legal deposit Enquiries about legal deposit.
Email: legal-deposit-enquiries@nls.uk
Manuscripts Enquiries relating to manuscripts and archives.
Email: manuscripts@nls.uk
Tel (direct dial): 0131 623 3876    Fax: 0131 623 3866
Maps Enquiries about maps and map-related information, based at Causewayside.
Email: maps@nls.uk
Tel (direct dial): 0131 623 4660    Fax: 0131 623 4661
See Maps Collections pages for other relevant contact details.
Modern Scottish Collections Enquiries about Scottish material published since 1900 and Scottish Bibliographies Online.
Email: modernscottish@nls.uk
Music Enquiries about music collections and music-related information.
Email: music@nls.uk
NEWSPLAN Scotland Enquiries about the local newspapers project.
Email: newsplanscotland@nls.uk.
Official Publications Enquiries about UK parliamentary material and official UK and overseas publications.
Email: opuenquiries@nls.uk.
Preservation
Enquiries about preservation and conservation activities at NLS, and enquiries about box-making and price quotes
Email: preservation@nls.uk
Rare Books Enquiries relating to special collections and early printed material.
Email: rarebooks@nls.uk
Tel (direct dial): 0131 623 3899
See Rare Books Collections pages for other relevant contact details.
Science Science Information Service, based at Causewayside.
Email: science@nls.uk
Scottish Screen Archive Enquiries about Scotland's moving images collection.
Email: ssaenquiries@nls.uk

 

For other departments or members of staff, see our Staff and departments directory.



Speak me