Saltire Awards ceremony at the Library

As well as sponsoring one of the of the competition's prizes, the National Library of Scotland recently hosted the Saltire Literary Awards ceremony, attended by writers, publishers, members of the Library's Board of Trustees and Library staff.

This year's 'Book of the Year' prize was presented to Janice Galloway for Clara, which tells the story of Clara Schumann, 19th-century virtuoso pianist and wife of composer Robert Schumann. The First Book award, for a work by an author who has not had a book published previously, was shared by Louise Welsh (The Cutting Room) and Liam McIlvanney (Burns The Radical). Joint winners of the Library's prize, the NLS Research Book of the Year, were Ray McKenzie (Public Sculpture of Glasgow) and Christopher Whyte (editor, Sorley Maclean's Dàin do Eimhir).

The Saltire Literary Awards are announced annually on a date close to St Andrew's Day, 30 November. Apart from award sponsorship, the Library's close involvement with the event takes the form of organising the ceremony and providing the venue in the George IV Bridge building.

Pictured are this year's winners (from left): Ray McKenzie; Janice Galloway; (back row) Liam McIlvanney; Louise Welsh; Christopher Whyte.

  photo of Saltire Awards winners

12 December 2002

Speak me