Saltire book awards announced

Andrew Greig
Andrew Greig

Winners of the most prestigious literary prizes in Scotland were announced on 30 November in a ceremony at the National Library of Scotland. Respected by writers and public alike, the Saltire Society presents four annual Scottish Book awards, one of which is supported by the Library. The four winning books in 2004 are:

  • In Another Light, by Andrew Greig
    - Saltire Society/Faculty of Advocates Scottish Book of the Year
  • Stargazing: Memoirs of a Young Lighthouse Keeper, by Peter Hill
    - Saltire Society/Royal Mail Group First Book of the Year
  • The Last of England?, by Randall Stevenson, and Maritime Enterprise and Empire: Sir William MacKinnon and his Business Network, 1823-1893, by J Forbes Munro
    - joint winners of the Saltire Society/National Library of Scotland Research Book of the Year
  • Adventurers & Exiles: The Great Scottish Exodus, by Marjory Harper
    - Saltire Society Award for the Scottish History Book of the Year

For 'Book of the Year', Andrew Greig had strong competition: Muriel Spark, A L Kennedy, and James Kelman - all previous Saltire winners - were among those in the running.

The Research Book award, supported by the National Library, was established in 1998 to recognise a significant body of research which offers new insight or dimension to a subject and shows knowledge and understanding of Scotland and the Scots. For more on the awards, see the Saltire Society's website.

3 December 2004

Speak me