Saltire Society awards announced at NLS

Kate Atkinson
Kate Atkinson

Winners of Scotland's most prestigious literary awards were announced today at a ceremony hosted by the National Library of Scotland.

The Saltire Society's annual book awards have been presented in recognition of Scottish writing talent for more than 20 years. Four awards were made for 2005, including one supported by the Library:

  • Saltire Society/Faculty of Advocates Scottish Book of the Year Award:
    Kate Atkinson - Case Histories (Doubleday)
  • Saltire Society/Royal Mail Scottish First Book of the Year Award:
    John Aberdein - Amande's Bed (Thirsty Books)
  • Saltire Society/National Library of Scotland Scottish Research Book of the Year:
    R D Connor and A D C Simpson (edited by A D Morrison-Law) - Weights and Measures in Scotland (National Museums of Scotland and Tuckwell Press)
  • Saltire Society Scottish History Book of the Year (in memory of Agnes Mure Mackenzie):
    Michael Penman - David II (Birlinn/John Donald)
Saltire 2005 winners group
(from left) Michael Penman,
John Aberdein and A D C Simpson

A variety of themes and topics was represented in the Saltire 2005 short leet of 22 titles, including social change since 1980, Rob Roy, impressionism and the modern publishing industry. Among authors on the list for the Scottish Book of the Year award was Ali Smith, a previous Saltire award winner.

Kate Atkinson's first crime novel, Case Histories, has been acclaimed as 'brilliant and engaging', 'exuberant' and 'thrilling, spectacularly eerie'. The Research Book of the Year, Weights and Measures in Scotland, is an illustrated history going back to the 12th century, and is the result of 18 years' scholarship.

30 November 2005

Speak me