Rankin and Rebus 20 years on

Ian Rankin
Ian Rankin.

Today sees the opening of a major exhibition marking the 20th anniversary of the first Inspector Rebus novel.

'Crime Scene Edinburgh: 20 years of Rankin and Rebus' looks at the development of the fictional detective and his award-winning author, Ian Rankin. It follows the publication last month of Exit Music, the final novel in the John Rebus series.

The free exhibition also explores:

  • Rankin's early influences
  • The role of Edinburgh in the Rebus stories
  • The history of Lothian and Borders Police
  • Modern police procedures and forensic science.

Diverse exhibits

Among the diverse exhibits are Rankin's old computer and the death mask of William Burke (of grave-robbers Burke and Hare fame). On display is the manuscript of the first Rebus novel, 'Knots and Crosses', and, from NLS collections, manuscripts from Sir Walter Scott, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and James Hogg.

We have audio clips of Ian Rankin reading from his work and excerpts from the recent Rebus television series. Visitors can also put their own detective skills to the test in our murder mystery.

'Crime Scene Edinburgh', sponsored by Scottish and Newcastle, runs at the National Library of Scotland until 13 January. Read more on our Rankin and Rebus exhibition page and in our Rebus exhibition press release.

23 October 2007

Speak me