Saltire Literary Award winners announced

A L Kennedy © Gordon Wright
A L Kennedy
© Gordon Wright
The Write Stuff

Winners of the 2007 Saltire Society Literary Awards were announced today at a ceremony in the National Library of Scotland.

The Book of the Year prize has gone to A L Kennedy for her latest novel, Day. Kennedy won the society's Best First Book prize in 1991.

Two authors this year share the 2007 Research Book of the Year award, which is sponsored by NLS and the Saltire Society. The full list of winners is:

  • Book of the Year - Day, by A L Kennedy (publisher: Jonathan Cape)
  • First Book of the Year - Fresh: A Novel, by Mark McNay (Canongate)
  • Research Book of the Year - Auld Campaigner, A life of Alexander Scott, by David Robb (Dunedin Academic Press) and Scotland's Books: The Penguin History of Scottish Literature, by Robert Crawford (Penguin).
  • 2006 History Book of the Year - Scotland's Historic Heraldry, by Bruce A McAndrew (Boydell)
  • 2007 History Book of the Year - The Scots and the Union, by Christopher A Whatley (Edinburgh University Press).

30 November 2007

Speak me