Saltire literary awards shortlist for 2009

The Saltire Society has announced the shortlist for its annual literary awards. Winners will be announced at a ceremony in the National Library of Scotland on 30 November.

Entrants for the Book of the Year award include previous winners Janice Galloway, A L Kennedy and Robert Crawford.

A new prize this year is the Homecoming Award, sponsored by the Scottish Government. Among those shortlisted are Seamus Heaney, Robert Crawford and Jackie Kay. Authors listed for the Research Book of the Year, sponsored by NLS, include Michael Fry, who is also entered for the history book award.

Presenting the prizes on St Andrew's Day will be Scotland's Minister of Culture, External Affairs and the Constitution, Michael Russell MSP.

23 November 2009

Speak me