Kelso and Edinburgh publishers take competition prizes

Two publishers have taken top prize in the 10th poetry pamphlet publishing competition at the National Library of Scotland.

The joint winners and the runner-up in the Callum Macdonald Memorial Award were announced at NLS on Wednesday 19 May:

  • Stichill Marigold Press (Leonard McDermid), Kelso, for 'And for that Minute', by Leonard McDermid (joint winner)
  • Hansel Cooperative Press (Christine de Luca), Edinburgh, for 'Arc O Möns' by Christie Williamson (joint winner)
  • Mariscat Press (Hamish Whyte), Edinburgh, for 'One Bird Flying' by Lesley Harrison (runner-up).

Forty-one entrants competed for this year's award, with the winners chosen from a shortlist of 7. The annual award is funded by the Michael Marks Charitable Trust and other friends and supporters, in memory of Scottish literary publisher and printer Callum Macdonald. It is administered by NLS in association with Callum's widow, Tessa Ransford OBE.

You can read more in the Callum Macdonald Memorial Award winners press release.

20 May 2010

Speak me