Saltire literary awards shortlists announced

Photo of a sign outside the Saltire Society

Winners of the 2011 Saltire Society Literary Awards will be revealed at a ceremony at the National Library of Scotland on 1 December.

The society recently announced the 25 books that have made it on to the shortlists for the four awards.

Seven titles are competing for the Saltire Society and National Library of Scotland Research Book of the Year. Dr Darryl Mead, a Deputy National Librarian at NLS, will be one of the adjudicators in that category.

Among authors in the running for Scottish Book of the Year prize are two of its previous recipients, Alistair Gray and John Burnside. Also on that shortlist is the latest novel by A L Kennedy, a former winner of the Scottish First Book of the Year award.

See the Saltire awards shortlists page for the full list of entries

24 November 2011

Speak me