Callum Macdonald award winners announced

'The angel and the aipple'

The 2014 Callum Macdonald Memorial Award has been won by Perjink Press for 'The angel and the aipple', by Mary Johnston.

The award recognises outstanding examples of pamphlet poetry publishing with a connection to Scotland or Scottish culture.

Publisher Dorothy Lawrenson received the winner's cheque for £800 and the Callum Macdonald Quaich at a ceremony in the National Library of Scotland on 15 May.

As the winning poet, Mary can look forward to a two-week residency as the Michael Marks Poet in Residence at Harvard University's Center for Hellenic Studies in Greece in July.

Cromarty Arts Trust took the £300 runner-up prize with 'Ballast Flint' by Richie McCaffery.


See also: The 2014 award shortlist

16 May 2014

Speak me