Shortlist announced for sought-after poetry award

The National Library of Scotland has announced the shortlist for the 2008 Callum Macdonald Memorial Award (CMMA) for poetry pamphlet publishing in Scotland. The shortlisted entries are:

  • If Ah Could Talk Tae The Artists, by Hugh Bryden, published in Dumfries by Roncadora Press
  • Treeds, by Laureen Johnson, published in Edinburgh by Hansel Cooperative Press
  • One Light Burning, by Donny O'Rourke, published in Glasgow by Bonny Day Books
  • The Currying Shop, by Hazel Cameron, published in Yorkshire by Imago Media
  • The Obois's Bedside Book, by Margaret Christie, published in Glenrothes by Happenstance
  • Edinburgh Poems, by Duncan Glen, published in Kirkcaldy by Akros Publications.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held at the National Library of Scotland's Causewayside building on Wednesday 7 May at 6pm, when all the entries will be on display.

The Callum Macdonald Memorial Award is given in recognition of publishing skill and effort in the field of poetry pamphlets. The award was created by the Library in memory of Scottish literary publisher Callum Macdonald, and is administered in association with Tessa Ransford, former Director of the Scottish Poetry Library and Callum Macdonald's widow. All Scottish publishers of poetry in pamphlet form are eligible to apply. The award is supported by the Michael Marks Charitable Trust.

The award also aims to encourage the preservation of printed material of this kind and all entries submitted are taken into the collections of the National Library of Scotland. As a result the Library currently holds nearly 250 of the finest contemporary Scottish poetry pamphlets in its collections. You can find out more about pamphlet poetry by logging on to


National Library of Scotland
George IV Bridge

Tel: 0131 623 3700


Back to top   |   Press Releases main page   |   main News page

23 April 2008

Speak me