Shortlist announced for Scottish pamphlet poetry award

The National Library of Scotland has announced the shortlist for the 2009 Callum Macdonald Memorial Award (CMMA) for poetry pamphlet publishing in Scotland. The shortlisted entries are:

  • 'The Flood' by Alistair McDonald, published in Dunoon by Classical Head Press
  • 'Sky Blue Notebook from the Pyrenees' by Jayne Wilding, published in Dunbar by Calder Wood Press
  • 'Slaughtering Beetroot' by Angela McSeveney, published in Edinburgh by Mariscat Press
  • 'Hinkum Clinkum' by Sheena Blackhall, published in Aberdeen by Malfranteaux Concepts
  • 'Hope/Truth' by Priscilla Chueng-Nainby, published in Edinburgh by Lemongrass Hut
  • 'Ring O'Sangs' by Mary Johnston, published in Bonnyrigg by Poetry Monthly
  • 'Postcards from the Hedge' by Hugh McMillan, published in Dumfries by Roncadora Press.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony at the National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh on Friday 29 May at 6pm. All of the entries will be on display at the event, where the winner stands to receive £750 in prize money and custody of the Callum Macdonald Memorial Quaich.

Commenting on the shortlist, judge Tessa Ransford OBE said:

'The 2009 award saw 38 entries of great variety, producing creative ways of dealing with the lighter and darker sides of life. We were delighted and impressed and would like to congratulate all the entrants for their well-made and well-written pamphlets. We would have liked to choose many more winners from such an array.

The shortlist demonstrates the variety of pamphlets entered. We have everything from the handmade to the more professionally produced, Scottish Arts Council-funded productions. There are a set of translations from German into Scots, a Chinese-inspired collection, and one of Scots rhymes for children.'

The Callum Macdonald Memorial Award is given in recognition of publishing skill and effort in the field of poetry pamphlets. The award was created by the Library in memory of Scottish literary publisher Callum Macdonald, and is administered in association with Tessa Ransford, former Director of the Scottish Poetry Library and Callum Macdonald's widow. All Scottish publishers of poetry in pamphlet form are eligible to apply. The award is supported by the Michael Marks Charitable Trust.

The award also aims to encourage the preservation of printed material of this kind and all entries submitted are taken into the collections of the National Library of Scotland. As a result the Library currently holds nearly 300 of the finest contemporary Scottish poetry pamphlets in its collections. You can find out more about pamphlet poetry on the Scottish Pamphlet Poetry website.


National Library of Scotland
George IV Bridge

Tel: 0131 623 3700


Back to top   |   Press Releases main page   |   main News page

5 May 2009

Speak me