Saltire Sociey Literary Awards — the winners

The winners of the 2009 Saltire Society Literary Awards were announced today (Monday) at the National Library of Scotland.

Scooping the coveted title of Book of the Year was Robert Crawford for his biography of Robert Burns, beating stiff competition from familiar names including A L Kennedy and Janice Galloway to clinch the £10,000 prize.

The Homecoming Award went to Donald Worster for 'A Passion for Nature: The Life of John Muir', while Eleanor Thom won the First Book of the Year award for 'The Tin-Kin'.

The History Book of the Year accolade went to Alexander Broadie for 'A History of Scottish Philosophy'.

'The Historical Thesaurus of the English Dictionary' was also recognised at the ceremony, taking the Research Book of the Year title.

All four were awarded a prize of £1,500.

The awards were presented by Culture Minister Michael Russell, who said: 'It is great to see the prestigious Saltire Society Literary Awards fully involved with the Homecoming Scotland Finale celebrations. The awards play a huge part in celebrating Scotland's literary heritage and the incredible strength of talent displayed by our contemporary writers.

'It is fitting that we applaud this talent on St Andrew's Day — our national day — particularly when this year's winning entries reflect the rich cultural, natural and intellectual heritage of this nation.'

Martyn Wade, National Librarian, said: 'It has been an honour to host these prestigious awards for the 12th time, recognising the wealth of literary talent Scotland has to offer. Our congratulations to all of this year's deserving winners.'

Press Releases main page   |   main News page

30 November 2009

Speak me