Couplet of winners announced in Callum Macdonald Memorial Award

An award which recognises publishing skill in the field of Scottish poetry pamphlets has produced joint winners for the second time in its 10-year history.

Stichill Marigold Press and Hansel Cooperative Press will share the accolade of winning the 10th National Library of Scotland's Callum Macdonald Memorial Award, having been selected from a shortlist of 7.

Kelso-based poet and founder of Stichill Marigold Press Leonard McDermid was selected for his pamphlet 'And for that Minute', while Orkney-based Hansel Cooperative Press was awarded for its publication of Shetlander Christie Williamson-s 'Arc O Möns'.

The NLS award is funded by the Michael Marks Charitable Trust and other friends and supporters, in memory of Scottish literary publisher and printer Callum Macdonald, and is administered in association with his widow, Tessa Ransford OBE.

Commenting on the winners, Tessa Ransford OBE, said: 'The field was again strong and numerous this year. It is always hard to choose a winner, which is done on the basis of the best pamphlet as an "objet d'art". The winning pamphlets captivated us with their poetic expression, originality and craftsmanship.'

The award encourages the preservation of printed material of this kind and all entries submitted are taken into the collections of the National Library of Scotland. As a result the Library currently holds over 300 contemporary Scottish poetry pamphlets in its archives.

Judge Lesley Duncan, who is also poetry editor of 'The Herald' newspaper, said: 'I never cease to be delighted with the amount of creativity simmering away in our small country. It is wonderful to see the writing of poetry and its presentation through good design both in such good shape. We received a large number of impressive entries this year and selecting the winners was difficult. Our eventual choices show real originality as artefacts as well as admirable quality of content.'

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the award, the previous 9 winning pamphlets will be displayed in an exhibition at the National Library of Scotland alongside the 2010 winners.

The winners both received a cheque for £500. Runner up Mariscat Press, who featured 'One Flying Bird' by Lesley Harrison from Dundee, received a cheque for £250. For more information on the Callum Macdonald Memorial Award 2010 call 0131 623 3810 or visit the Scottish Poetry Pamphlet website.


National Library of Scotland
George IV Bridge

Tel: 0131 623 3700

20 May 2010

Speak me