Callum Macdonald award shortlist

National Library of Scotland pamphlet poetry finalists

The National Library of Scotland has announced the shortlist for the 2013 Callum Macdonald Memorial Award.

The award recognises outstanding examples of pamphlet poetry publishing with a connection to Scotland or Scottish culture. 

The shortlist is as follows:

  • Hansel Cooperative Press and Woodend Publishing for 'Reflections' by Yvonne Gray and John Cumming
  • Happenstance Press for 'After the creel fleet' by Niall Campbell
  • Mariscat Press for 'On time' by Donald Mackay
  • New Voices Press for 'Holding' by Maggie Rabatski
  • Roncadora Press for 'Nest' by Tom Pow and Hugh Bryden
  • Stewed Rhubarb Press for 'The glassblower dances' by Rachel McCrum.

The winner and runner-up will be announced at a ceremony at the National Library of Scotland on 16 May, when all the entries will also be displayed. The publisher of the winning pamphlet will be presented with a cheque for £800 and will hold the Callum Macdonald Quaich for 12 months.

The author of the winning pamphlet will also be eligible for a separate prize of a two-week residency as the Michael Marks Poet in Residence at Harvard University's Center for Hellenic Studies in Greece in July.

The NLS award is funded by the Michael Marks Charitable Trust, in memory of Scottish literary publisher and printer Callum Macdonald MBE, and is administered in association with his widow, Tessa Ransford OBE.

The award promotes and encourages the publishing of Scottish pamphlet poetry. All entries become part of the Callum Macdonald Memorial Award archive held in the collections of the National Library of Scotland.

14 May 2013

Speak me