Appointments to the Board

New Board members for Scotland's National Library

The Scottish Government's Cabinet Secretary for Culture and External Affairs, Fiona Hyslop, today announced the appointment of seven new members to the Board of the National Library of Scotland. Chair of the Board, James Boyle, said: 'I am very pleased to welcome these talented new Board members who will help to lead the future development of one of the country's great cultural institutions. The Library plays a key role in supporting education, research, business and innovation and in enhancing the reputation of Scotland as a country with a rich cultural heritage and a vibrant future.'

The Library's Board members will be responsible for determining the strategies, policies and priorities for the Library as it seeks to make the knowledge and information held within its world-class collections as widely available as possible.

The new Board is being formed as a result of the passage of the National Library of Scotland Act 2012 by the Scottish Parliament. The legislation strengthens the Library's role in collecting, preserving and sharing information for the benefit of people in Scotland and further afield. It also creates a modern governance structure, led by a streamlined board.

Applications were sought from individuals with strategic level experience of finance, audit and risk and from those with a background in marketing, education, research or library services. The new members are Noreen Adams, Dianne Haley, Simon Learoyd, Sir Neil McIntosh, Fiona Robertson, Professor Adrienne Scullion and Professor Melissa Terras.

The Library's collections span the centuries from early times to the digital age, housing millions of books, manuscripts, music and maps covering virtually every subject. Through these collections, NLS charts the global and historical influence of Scots at home and abroad, while also recording and reflecting the ideas and cultures of the world. It exists to advance universal access to knowledge about Scotland and in Scotland. It employs 300 people and has a current annual budget of £17.5 million.

About the new Board members:

Noreen Adams is currently Head of Metadata at the BBC where she is responsible for promoting and developing metadata standards that enable audiences to access BBC broadcast services, and where she previously developed and implemented the innovative digital archive for BBC Scotland. Noreen is also chair of the UK Public Service Broadcasters Digital Production Partnership Metadata Standards Group. From 2010 to 2012 Noreen was a member of the Executive Council of the Federation of International Television Archives and hosted their 2012 annual conference in partnership with the British Library and BFI.

Dianne Haley is an experienced senior manager with strong strategic, programme and financial skills gained in line management and programme roles. She established a business in 2005 to provide interim management and consultancy services in change management and strategy development across the private, public and charity sectors. Dianne is a fellow of the Strategic Planning Society. She is a volunteer for the Cranfield Trust and has been on the Board of ARK Housing Association.

Simon Learoyd is Head of Performance Management at Clydesdale Bank, focusing on planning and financial reporting. He has worked in Scotland for Clydesdale for over 10 years. He lives in Dunblane and is married with two adult children.

Sir Neil McIntosh brings experience in industry, local government and public service management. His experience includes management services, human relations and executive management, including Chief Executive appointments with Dumfries and Galloway and Strathclyde Regional Councils. He has Board experience of Scottish and UK public bodies, including as Chair of the Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland, and has also served as Convener of the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations.

Fiona Robertson brings a range of leadership and management skills drawn from the cultural sector, local and central government to the Board. She began her career as a curator at Tate and has held since then a number of curatorial and Arts administration posts. She joined Scottish Government in 2003 where she worked on policy including culture, housing, transport, and Community Planning. She is currently Head of Cultural and Community Services at Perth and Kinross Council where her responsibilities include libraries, museums and galleries and community learning and development. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Adrienne Scullion holds the James Arnott Chair in Drama at the University of Glasgow. Until recently she was Dean of Research for the University's College of Arts and a member of the university's governing body. She has particular research expertise in Scottish theatre and drama from the 18th century to the present; theatre and drama for children and young people; 18th and 19th century women playwrights; and cultural policy, in particular in relation to Scotland and to cultural and national identity. She is also the chair of the Citizens Theatre, Glasgow.

Melissa Terras is Director of University College London's Centre for Digital Humanities, and Professor of Digital Humanities in UCL's Department of Information Studies. With a background in Art History, English Literature, and Computing Science (University of Glasgow), and a doctorate in Engineering (University of Oxford) for the past 15 years she has been working in the area of digitisation within the cultural and heritage sectors. She is on the executive of the European Association for Digital Humanities, the executive of the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organisations, is General Editor of Digital Humanities Quarterly, and a Co-Investigator of the EPSRC funded Centre for Doctoral Training in Science and Engineering the Arts, Heritage and Archaeology. Her research focuses on the use of computational techniques to enable research in the arts, humanities and heritage that would otherwise be impossible.

The appointment of Noreen Adams, Dianne Haley, Fiona Robertson and Adrienne Scullion will be for four years and will run from 1 February 2014 to 31 January 2018. The appointment of Simon Learoyd, Sir Neil McIntosh and Melissa Terras will be for three years and will run from 1 February 2014 to 31 January 2017.

These appointments are part-time and require a time commitment of 12 days per year. These appointments are not remunerated.


See also the Scottish Government Public Appointments website


21 February 2014

Speak me