Donors to current and future fundraising projects and priorities

The staff and Board of the National Library of Scotland would like to thank all the individuals and organisations whose generous support underpins everything we do.

Our supporters allow the Library to continue to inspire learners all over the world, to conserve our collections for the future and to acquire new items for our collections.

In essence, our donors allow you to view, to research and to learn from our remarkable collections, giving us all a greater understanding of Scotland's national culture.

In addition to the donors listed below, we would like to acknowledge the significant support from the Scottish Government.


Major gifts

Thank you to the following generous supporters who have made major gifts to the National Library of Scotland:

  • The John R Murray Charitable Trust
  • The Binks Trust


General funds

Thank you to the following donors who have contributed to our general funds:

  • Australians Studying Abroad
  • Lothians Family History Society
  • University of the Third Age
  • The Sir Maxwell Harper Gow Charitable Trust
  • Cairn Energy Plc
  • J & R Freedman Charitable Trust
  • Stichting Teuntje Anna (TA Fund)
  • The W S Wilson Charitable Trust
  • The Alma & Leslie Wolfson Charitable Trust
  • Professor Michael Anderson OBE FBA FRSE Hon FFA and Ms Elspeth MacArthur
  • Sir Eric Anderson KT FRSE and Lady Poppy Anderson
  • Mr David L Barnard
  • Ms Brittay Bovenzi
  • Sir Peter Burt and Lady Burt
  • Ms Jennifer Cirone
  • Miss Pauline A M Clarke and Miss Patricia Clarke
  • Mr and Mrs Jonathan Cobb
  • Sir Sandy M Crombie and Lady Crombie
  • Keith Dobson
  • Duchess of Hamilton
  • Mr Donald Hardie OBE DL
  • Mr Richard C D Harman
  • Mrs Pamela Law
  • Mr Charles Lovatt
  • Professor Alexander McCall Smith CBE and Dr Elizabeth McCall Smith
  • Alan McCartney
  • Mr Ian A T McPhal
  • Mr Jim Mellon
  • Dr Patrick Mullin
  • Mr Ian W Moffett
  • Mr Robert J O'Riordan
  • Dr Richard Parsons
  • Mr Robin Pearson
  • Ms Eileen Penman
  • Mr John D Pickles
  • Jenny Purcell
  • John Raeburn
  • Mr Christopher Shilton
  • Mr Graham Thorpe
  • Mr Eric Vynckie
  • Mr Max Ward and Lady Sarah Ward
  • Ms Lois Wolffe
  • David Young
  • And all the many anonymous donors who support us.



We are extremely grateful to the following individuals, who left legacies for the Library:

  • Major General James F J Johnston CB
  • Miss Mary E Mackenzie
  • Mr George C McElroy


Special projects

Thank you to the following donors who have generously supported particular projects at the Library:

New acquisitions

  • Friends of the National Libraries
  • The Soutar Trust
  • The John R Murray Charitable Trust.

Creative residencies in the Maps Reading Room

  • The Sir Maxwell Harper Gow
  • The Gordon Fraser Charitable Trust
  • Cruden Foundation Ltd
  • The Russell Trust.

The Callum Macdonald Memorial Award

  • Robert Gregor
  • The Michael Marks Charitable Trust

Scottish Screen Archive

  • The Hugh Fraser Foundation — Scottish Screen Archive
  • The Mickel Fund — Scottish Screen Archive
  • The Trusthouse Charitable Foundation — Scottish Screen Archive
  • Mr Douglas Hall — Scottish Screen Archive.

'Picturing Africa' exhibition

  • The John R Murray Charitable Trust
  • David Livingstone 200 Project (touring talk programme).

Geo-referencing of historical maps

  • David Rumsey
  • The Samuel H Kress Foundation.

Cataloguing the John Murray Archive

  • The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation.

Promoting the Library through events around Scotland

  • William Zachs.

'Inspirations' series of events

  • Baillie Gifford & Co.


Donor lists

Speak me