National Library of Scotland Annual Review 2008-2009

Saying thank you

Woman looking at a large old map

We gratefully thank all our funders, supporters and donors for the year from 1 April 2008 to 31 March 2009.

Thanks also to our Board of Trustees.

Key funders

Our core funding is provided by the Scottish Government.

John Murray Archive Project funders and supporters

This year was marked by extremely generous support for our John Murray Archive Project.

Major donors

  • Heritage Lottery Fund
  • Scottish Government
  • Mr and Mrs Richard Burns
  • John R Murray Charitable Trust
  • Dunard Fund
  • The Badenoch Trust
  • The Darwin Trust of Edinburgh


  • The John Ellerman Foundation
  • The Michael Marks Charitable Trust
  • The North British Hotel Trust


  • Mr and Mrs Michael Barron
  • The Cordis Trust
  • Mr Francis K Finlay OBE *
  • The Gordon Fraser Charitable Trust
  • The Sir Maxwell Harper Gow Charitable Trust
  • The Radcliffe Trust
  • Mr and Mrs John S B Carson
  • The Lord Laing of Dunphail FRSE and Family
  • Dr William Zachs and Mr Martin Adam *


  • Anderson Strathern
  • Career Associates (UK) Ltd
  • Professor Bliss Carnochan *
  • Dickson Minto WS
  • The Alma & Leslie Wolfson Charitable Trust
  • Lord and Lady Balfour of Burleigh
  • Professor Sir Drummond Bone
  • Sir Ronald Miller
  • Mr Michael Palin CBE
  • Mr Martyn Wade
  • Ms Teri Wishart


  • The JTH Charitable Trust
  • The Cray Trust
  • The National Trust for Scotland - Eastwood Members Centre
  • Falkirk Archaeological and Natural History Society
  • Mrs K R Barclay Bowley
  • Mr George Brydon
  • Miss Pauline A M Clarke and Miss Patricia Clarke
  • Mr J S Coduri
  • Professor and Mrs Alastair Fowler
  • Mr Rupert Kendal
  • Mr Norman Lessels CBE and Mrs Christine Lessels
  • Ms Joan Lingard MBE and Mr Martin Birkhans
  • Mr Alan McGeever
  • Ms Gill Thring and Mr Ray Kelleher
  • Mrs Phyllis Whelan and Mr Whelan

*Donated via AANLS (American Associates of the National Library of Scotland)

Visitor Centre Project funders

Building on the groundbreaking John Murray Archive exhibition, we are developing our buildings to provide unprecedented access to the national collection with a capital funding project that has already attracted high level support.

  • The Foyle Foundation
  • William Grant & Sons
  • The Wolfson Foundation

Other project funders

Bartholomew Archive Project

  • The John R Murray Charitable Trust

Callum Macdonald Memorial Award

  • The Michael Marks Charitable Trust
  • Mrs C Mary Coghill
  • Mr Robert Gregor

Education Programme

  • The Lindsay Trust
  • The Trusthouse Charitable Foundation
  • Scottish Arts Council

Medical History of British India Project

  • The Wellcome Trust

Collection donors

We are extremely grateful to the many individuals and organisations who, in donating a wide range of material, have uniquely enriched our collections. While space allows only a selection to be listed, we value all of our 500+ donors for their generosity in the past year.

  • 7:84 Theatre Company (Scotland)
  • F Ahmed
  • James Allan
  • Archivio Storico della Citta di Bolzano
  • S M Asplin
  • Australian High Commission
  • The Basque Government, Press and Communication Office
  • Bernard Quaritch Limited
  • Keith S Bovey
  • Braille-Net
  • David Brotherton
  • Mrs Margaret Brown
  • Alistair R Brownlie
  • Steuart Campbell
  • Donald Campbell Christie
  • Cape Breton University
  • The late Mrs Elizabeth A Clark
  • Dr Rose M Clark
  • Professor A A M Duncan
  • Brian Duncan
  • Lesley Duncan
  • Dundee Contemporary Arts, Visual Research Centre
  • Mrs Ann Edmond
  • Simon Fairclough
  • Filmoteca de Andalucia
  • Keith Forrester-Paton
  • Glasgow University Archives Services
  • Dr Ian Gosney
  • Virginio Gracci
  • The late Marillyn S R Gray
  • John Green
  • Sinclair Hood
  • Dr James L Hopkins
  • Professor Pamela Howard
  • Mollie Hunter
  • The John R Murray Charitable Trust
  • Mrs Kate Elliott Jones
  • Dr Michael Keith
  • Korea Foundation
  • Colin Liddell
  • Mrs Lesley Maciver
  • Bernard M McPhee
  • Midlothian Local Studies and Archive Service
  • Mrs Sylvia G Morrison
  • Michael Nash
  • Dr Andrew Newby
  • Mrs Frances Nixon
  • Murray Oliver
  • Professor Thomas O'Loughlin
  • Agnes Owens
  • Lady Virginia Pasley
  • Sir Alan Peacock
  • Perth and Kinross Heritage Trust
  • Rev D Pirie
  • Robert Rae
  • Professor Alan Riach
  • Mrs Alison Richard
  • RMJM Ltd
  • Herman Rodrigues
  • Mrs Jane Roy
  • David H J Schenck
  • Rev Melville Schofield
  • Gerard Shepherd
  • Shibunkaku Co Ltd.
  • Dr David Shneidman
  • Innes Sloss
  • South Lanarkshire Council, East Kilbride Central Library
  • Stanley Foundation
  • Canon D B Steven
  • Tony Strachan
  • Rufus Sym
  • Jim Taylor
  • Peter D Taylor
  • David J Terry
  • J Thomson
  • Dr Peter Urbach
  • Gabriel Maria Verd
  • Neill Walker
  • Mrs Sarah Walker
  • Mrs Doreen M. Ward
  • Mrs Rhona Weir
  • Mrs Monica Wynter
  • Dr Marina Zografou

Back to top