Special and Named Printed Collections


A collection of 36 items formerly the property of Robert Grant & Son. A large part of the collection consists of special book announcements, dated between 1928 and 1937, addressed to select customers concerning the most outstanding new publications in stock. Amongst the titles concerned are the newly published Rudyard Kiplingŭs 'A book of words' (1928) and T.E. Lawrenceŭs 'The seven pillars of wisdom'(1935). There are in addition a number of general catalogues, dating from 1928 to 1949, also issued by the firm, and a brief run of their own journal, 'Fir tree', containing book reviews. Ephemera in the collection includes correspondence with Sir William Y Darling, former Provost of Edinburgh, regarding his take-over of the firm in 1941 and a lunch menu, dating 1951, described as an 'inaugural luncheon' and headed 'Robert Grant and Son Limited, The Edinburgh Bookshop'.

Shelfmark: HP5.203.0160

Introduction  |  Search  |  List of Collections